Select Page
How Can We Help?
< Back
You are here:
Print

Using the icon on your computer’s system tray, you can manage preferences, pause a sync process, and view warning messages.

Managing Preferences

To manage your preferences, or to change your settings:

  1. Click the system tray icon, click the Manage button, and then select Preferences.Settings2.pngThe Preferences dialog box displays, showing the Overview tab.
  2. Use the Overview tab to view important information and status updates, including:
    1. The current state of the sync process, including whether the files are up to date, pending sync, or currently syncing
    2. The total amount of space quota available and the total amount of space used
    3. The device name and the device account information
    4. The Unregister button, which unregisters the desktop client
    5. The Activity area, which lists the status of uploaded and downloaded files, as well as a notification of excluded files1.png
  3. Click the Sync tab to select and deselect the Team Shares, personal folders, and subfolders that you do not want available on your local machine.Sync.png
  4. Click the Settings tab to specify language, locking, and remote browsing settings. For example:
    1. Click the Language drop-down menu to select your preferred language. You can also choose to show or hide desktop notifications.
    2. In the File Locking section, click the Auto Locking drop-down menu to set your preferred auto-locking preference. If your administrator has turned on the Auto-Locking feature for a Team Share, you can decide to automatically lock, never lock, or receive a prompt each time you open a supported Word, PowerPoint, or Excel file in a Team Share.
    3. In the Privacy section, click the Disable Remote Browsing checkbox to prevent administrators from remotely browsing the contents of your Synced Folder (for example, to create a backup of your local folders).SettingsTab_WithNumbers.png
  5. Click the Network tab to manage LAN Sync, bandwidth, and proxy settings. For example:
    1. If you are working within a Local Area Network (LAN), click the Enable LAN Sync check box to turn on the LAN Sync feature. LAN Sync refers to a file synchronization approach that accelerates the sync process when a shared file already exists on a LAN.
    2. Use the Bandwidth Throttling section to configure bandwidth settings; you have the option to set a specific limit, or decide not to limit bandwidth. Please note that administrator settings might override your personal settings.
    3. Click the Proxies drop-down to configure proxy settings for your network. You can select from:
      • No proxy
      • Detect Automatically, which auto-detects proxy settings from your system or network
      • Custom, which allows you to apply custom proxy configurations if you are unable to automatically have the system detect your proxy server settingsNetwork_WithNumbers.png
  6. Click the Warnings tab to view a list of file sync warnings. While still in this tab, you can also click the Export Sync Status Report link to save information about the current sync status to a text file.Warnings2.png
Pausing a Sync Process

You may find times when you would like to pause the sync process, such as when you are getting on a plane, when you want to conserve bandwidth, or if you would like to work in isolation.

To pause a sync process on a Windows or Mac machine:

  1. Click the system tray icon and hover over the Status message (for example, Up to date). On a Windows machine, the icon is located in the lower right-hand corner of the screen; on a Mac machine, the icon is located in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.03000029.png
  2. When the text changes, click the Pause button.
  3. To resume the sync process, hover over Paused and select Resume.0300002A.png
Viewing Warning Messages

In addition to managing preferences and pausing a sync process, you can view the desktop client warning messages and resolve issues directly from the system tray icon.

  1. The Space Quota indicator message displays the amount of space you are currently utilizing.
  2. The Resolve Sync Warnings indicator activates when a file sync warning—such as a collision or a locked change warning—occurs on your local machine. When this indicator is active, click to resolve the file sync warning.
  3. The Status indicator displays the progress of the sync process. This indicator will alert you when the sync process is up to date, syncing, paused, or disconnected. You can also hover over this indicator to enable pause and resume functionality.WarningMessages.png
Previous How to Download the Desktop Client
Next How to Register the Desktop Client
Table of Contents